Squash/Brussels/Cranberry Salad

I love cranberries, and their tart-yet-satisfying flavor! I must admit, my favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner is the cranberry sauce.  ^_^ Happy to see them in season again, I’ve been looking for ways to use them. Found this ‘salad’ recipe and knew I had to try it.

This recipe turned out to be not quite as savory as I expected, but still super delicious!

I had more like 1.5 lbs of squash and brussels sprouts, so here’s what I did with my edits:

Dish:

1 butternut squash, cubed
1.5 bags of frozen/fresh Brussels sprouts, halved
0.5 cups frozen (or fresh) cranberries, cut in half
1 TB parsley, chop fine

Dressing:

olive oil
dijon mustard

Put the sprouts and squash in baking pans, dress with salt and olive oil, and roast in oven: 400º for 15 minutes or more, until cooked but not mushy.

Put cranberries in baking pan, and pop in the oven for 3-5 minutes, until soft and juicy. (If using fresh, skip this step.)

Mix a teaspoon of Dijon mustard with a little oil.

Combine all ingredients in a big bowl. Eat!

Time: about 30 minutes total.
Cost: low, considering the affordable prices of squash, brussels, and cranberries in season.

This tastes great warm, but can also be eaten cold. The original has a bit of sugar from the craisins and vinaigrette, but my version is totally yeast-free, except maybe the tiny bit of vinegar in the mustard (which I decided to let slide).
A satisfying dish which makes a great main dish or beside a lettuce salad, and I found it easy to pack to school for lunch! Will be making this one again.

::BK::

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment on this

