A Better Pumpkin Pie

If I had a beautiful picture it would go here, but alas, this pie was too beautiful to live and was consumed before I could snap a shot. Try baking one and snapping your own pictures…. go on, I dare you.

😉

This Thanksgiving, I tackled my annual tradition of making the pumpkin pie for our family dinner. Since this became a tradition, I always used the basic baked-in-shell pumpkin pie recipe from my cherished copy of The Joy of Cooking, baked in a whole-wheat butter crust. The result was always okay…good but a lot more dense and ‘serious’ than a really great pumpkin pie would be. The pies looked great, I wasn’t impressed with the taste… but my family ate them, and I didn’t want to take the risk of trying different recipes on Thanksgiving.

And then this year, I lost my cookbook. I looked all over, only to realize I left it at my place… we couldn’t even find my mom’s copy in the house. I turned to the Internet.

My first goal was just to see if anyone had posted that pumpkin pie recipe from the original book. They had — but along the way I found altered versions of that recipe, and improvements, and a bunch of unrelated google links about pies. My curiosity got the better of me, so after some investigation, I decided to try the following. This recipe is more or less original, pulling ingredient amounts from several different recipes, technique from internet posts, and my personal experience. The crust is new flour in an old recipe: made with a buckwheat mix, it becomes light and flaky instead of dense and chewy.

We had our family plus friends over for dinner, and they all said it was the best pumpkin pie they’d had ever/longtime, even if they didn’t like pumpkin pie before, and a most amazing recipe. And when I tasted a bite, I had to agree.

Pumpkin Pie 2.0: The Next Generation

PIE.

3 eggs (separate)
2 C cooked butternut squash (puree before mixing). Yes, the next generation of pumpkin pie isn’t even pumpkin anymore. Progressive I know, but try it and you won’t look back!
1.5 C heavy cream
1/4 C cane sugar
1/4 C maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves/allspice (you can use either or a mix of both)
1 tsp cinnamon

Before making this pie, you must have some cooked (baked) butternut squash. Alot several hours for this process; reference the Internet for squash-baking instructions. Bake it, don’t boil or microwave [shudder]. Baking releases the most natural sugars and flavor in the squash.

Separate the eggs and set the whites aside. Blend/mix the yolks, and all the other ingredients, together until smooth. Whip the egg whites until stiff, then fold them into the batter. Pour into prepared crust (see below), put in oven, turn to 375ºF and bake 45+ minutes, until a knife in the center comes out clean. Let cool completely (unrefrigerated) before serving.

This recipe just barely fits in a 9″ crust; could also use a 10″ or 10.5″ pan. Or go smaller and make several mini pies!

 

CRUST

This recipe (whole wheat pie crust) directly from The Spot cookbook by Tonya somebody…, with my modifications for GF/yeast-free baking…

this part coming soon. (until then, use any crust recipe, but pre-bake the crust for 5-10 minutes [until edges golden] before pouring the filling in.)

 

This recipe is not part of my usual diet, but is much more nutritious and has much less sugar than a typical pumpkin pie, nonetheless.

::BK::

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment on this

